NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

So this is how I am and this is why I can call myself honest

+5
veya_victaous
nicko
Eilzel
Maddog
eddie
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

So this is how I am and this is why I can call myself honest  Empty So this is how I am and this is why I can call myself honest

Post by eddie Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:02 am

So I work as a customer care manager at a restaurant. Let me tell you a story:

We sell a very spicy dish which contains a hot pepper jerk sauce. An old black man ordered the dish and five minutes later called me over to ask for some water.
He was gasping and saying “That sauce is hot!”

I replied jokingly, “Dude, you’re black! Don’t you eat this kind of stuff at home? It’s jerk sauce!”

He laughed, grabbed my arm and said “Oh yes we do but this sauce is Hot hot!”

I got him some water and he carried on joking with me and said a warm goodbye when he left.

This is how I communicate. I say what I see and I have never ever made anyone feel bad. He was black, he eats hot food and he KNEW, HE KNEW, that I wasn’t a racist simply because I mentioned he was black.

My question is this: Would any of you have mentioned his colour? How would you have reacted? Was mentioning his colour more or less racist than the “PC world” would allow?

eddie
eddie
King of Beards. Keeper of the Whip. Top Chef. BEES!!!!!! Mushroom muncher. Spider aficionado!

Back to top Go down

So this is how I am and this is why I can call myself honest  Empty Re: So this is how I am and this is why I can call myself honest

Post by Maddog Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:07 am

eddie wrote:So I work as a customer care manager at a restaurant. Let me tell you a story:

We sell a very spicy dish which contains a hot pepper jerk sauce. An old black man ordered the dish and five minutes later called me over to ask for some water.