NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

If you were an agony aunt or uncle what answer would you give to a genuine problem?

+2
magica
Syl
6 posters

Go down

If you were an agony aunt or uncle what answer would you give to a genuine problem? Empty If you were an agony aunt or uncle what answer would you give to a genuine problem?

Post by Syl Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:17 pm

This is a supposedly genuine letter written to a daily newspaper in todays advice column....what answer would you give?

"I’m a transgender woman who has just come out. Although I’m in my 50s, I intend going through the process of fully becoming a woman and, as you probably know, part of this process involves living full time as a woman.
With this in mind, I had to speak to my boss (I work as a checkout ­operator) and she said that she’d support me and would inform the other staff. Fine, I thought, and made arrangements to go into work as a woman.

However, on my first morning at work wearing a skirt and tights, my department manager demanded that I closed my till and took myself to the storeroom to work for the day.
I asked why and he said that the shopfloor area was “not for women like me”. I asked him to explain and he said that if I intended to continue wearing skirts and/or other female items, then I should be kept she be treated the same, to which he replied “no”, adding, “but then you’re not a real girl”.

I took this matter to my boss, who just said that she wouldn’t intervene in my department manager’s decision.
I fully intend going back to work in a skirt but I don’t know how to handle my department manager, especially as I need my job. Please help."
Syl
Syl
Forum Detective ????‍♀️

Back to top Go down

If you were an agony aunt or uncle what answer would you give to a genuine problem? Empty Re: If you were an agony aunt or uncle what answer would you give to a genuine problem?

Post by magica Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:08 pm