NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BBC China editor resigns over ‘secretive and illegal’ pay culture

5 posters

Go down

BBC China editor resigns over ‘secretive and illegal’ pay culture Empty BBC China editor resigns over ‘secretive and illegal’ pay culture

Post by veya_victaous Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:01 am

ONE of the BBC’s most senior journalists has accused the corporation of a “secretive and illegal BBC pay culture” after she found out her male colleagues earned “at least 50 per cent more” than female staff for the same role.

China editor Carrie Gracie has resigned her role in protest over the remuneration culture at the public broadcaster. She wrote an open letter to UK taxpayers who fund the BBC through a licence fee, explaining why the attitude inside the organisation forced her hand.

“My name is Carrie Gracie and I have been a BBC journalist for three decades. With great regret, I have left my post as China editor to speak out publicly on a crisis of trust at the BBC,” she wrote.

“The BBC belongs to you, the licence fee payer. I believe you have a right to know that it is breaking equality law and resisting pressure for a fair and transparent pay structure.”

The fluent Mandarin speaker and 30-year industry veteran said the BBC is not living up to its “stated values of trust, honesty and accountability”.

It comes after it was forced to disclose the salaries of those earning over £150,000 ($A260,000) in July after a new royal charter designed to insure transparency for fee payers.

“For the first time, women saw hard evidence of what they’d long suspected, that they are not being valued equally,” she said.

Gracie wrote that she insisted on equal pay when taking up the prestigious China role which is one of four international editor positions also covering the US, Middle East and Europe.