NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

'I actually quit the CIA for 3 days in 2004. I was exhausted ...'

5 posters

Go down

'I actually quit the CIA for 3 days in 2004. I was exhausted ...' Empty 'I actually quit the CIA for 3 days in 2004. I was exhausted ...'

Post by Ben Reilly Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:42 pm

Ten years ago this week, the U.S. invaded Iraq, citing intelligence that turned out to be bogus. I had to work on some of it — and I also had to work on keeping the really, really terrible versions of it out of our analysis.

Specifically, I was a CIA analyst working in the Counterterrorism Center in the overburdened days after 9/11. As analysts, we spend most of our time identifying burgeoning issues based on communications intercepts, reports from CIA case officers, imagery from satellites, accounts from other governments, and piecing together a story.

What we don’t do routinely is tie one catastrophe to another. But that was exactly what I was asked to do in November 2002, shortly after Congress voted to authorize war with Iraq. That war was predicated on Saddam Hussein’s (ultimately nonexistent) stockpiles of deadly weapons, but lurking in the background was the assertion that he’d pass them on to al-Qaida. At the CIA’s Iraq Branch in the Counterterrorism Center, we didn’t think Saddam had any substantial ties to al-Qaida. But soon we found ourselves fielding questions from determined Bush administration officials about whether Saddam was tied to 9/11.

http://www.wired.com/dangerroom/2013/03/iraq-intelligence/
Ben Reilly
Ben Reilly
King of Texas. Gigantic Killer Robot. Robin Hood of Epping Forest. Fifty Shades of Cray.

http://www.newsfixboard.com

Back to top Go down

'I actually quit the CIA for 3 days in 2004. I was exhausted ...' Empty Re: 'I actually quit the CIA for 3 days in 2004. I was exhausted ...'

Post by Lurker Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:29 pm