NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

NBA Finals

NewsFix :: Sport :: Sport

Go down

NBA Finals Empty NBA Finals

Post by Original Quill Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:09 pm

I was a sophomore in high school when I first picked up J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Rings.

The Game of Thrones before the Game of Thrones, LOTR was and remains the perfect mixture of fantasy, suspense, color, and imagination. In fact, it was so well-written that I had dreamt up an entire world in my head, dozing off during and between classes, imagining how Aragorn, son of Arathorn II, would topple entire armies of pitifully grotesque orcs fighting off adrenaline, pride, and courage. Several years later, the much-hyped movie arrived, directed by Peter Jackson, and somehow fulfilling every expectation imaginable. The dialogue popped, the vision perfectly aligned, and the overall storytelling as crisp as the read itself despite the page length. But it was different.

The Shire wasn't as rugged and scraggly as I expected; the helmets less regal than in my Saturday afternoon dream immersions; the ring much more stale; Sauron way more pulsing and threatening; and the landscape much more breathtaking. The difference between the imagined and expected hype did not make a bad viewing per se, merely setting up the permanent chasm between reality and fantasy.

How does any of that fit into an NBA Finals clash between the Cleveland Cavaliers and Golden State Warriors?