NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dear Black America

+2
eddie
Maddog
6 posters

Go down

Dear Black America Empty Dear Black America

Post by Maddog Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:24 pm

Black folks,

Let’s talk for a second. If you know like I know, there are practically no definitive gains for us in the two-party system of American politics. But if you also know like I know, there’s a distinction between the party that wants no parts of us and the party that wants our unrelenting loyalty in exchange for a little tenderness.

Our vote has always been caught in a lover’s quarrel. We are trying to find true love in a nation soiled by the blood of our ancestors and a nation that pushes us to decide between a party that personifies an abusive, wrecking ball of a lover or one that sweet talks/gaslights us with empty promises.

Before I go any further, I want to say something with full transparency: I am not a proponent of two-party system politics. I believe it to be stifling for Black Americans and leaves us in a perpetual state of “lesser evil” political options. Life itself is nuanced and very rarely offering anyone the opportunity to choose between one of two options about anything. But we are expected to adhere to an either/or dichotomy when deciding this country’s leadership.

Let me be additionally clear in saying that I do not believe it is in any of our best interests to vote for Donald Trump to be re-elected as president or for us to cast Republican votes down the ballot. The Republican Party under Trump’s leadership has veered far beyond textbook conservatism. He has emboldened a level of supremacy that is a direct threat to our personhood, has not produced deliverables on promises made to us, insulted us time and again, endangered the public health of the entire country by mishandling the pandemic and has generally been an abhorrent example of leadership and humanity in general.