NewsFix
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Social experiences by generation

+2
Ben Reilly
Vintage
6 posters

Go down

Social experiences by generation Empty Social experiences by generation

Post by Vintage Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:22 pm

There are a range of generations posting here and I would be interested (nosey) to find out how you spent your weekends in your teens early twenties, to see how much has changed or stayed the same.

I worked as a Saturday Girl in my local Woolworths in my last couple of years in school, my 19s 6p later £1:00 along with pocket money fuelled my Saturday ad Sunday nights out.
Friday night we'd gather at someone's house and style each others hair for Saturday, mine was not worth the effort, if curled for waves they'd have fallen out within the hour. The straight hair had been great a couple of years before in my hippy stage.

Anyway, after work we'd rush home and get ready to go to the disco and live band in a dance hall back in town. A couple of drinks while waiting for the dance floor to fill up and off you go dancing the night away until ---- 11:00pm, then just enough time to get the last bus home.

Sundays sometimes you had a date but they were usually for a week day or next Saturday, normally we'd all turn up at the local cinema which, wasn't exactly salubrious, to watch Hammer House of Horror Films or similar, mainly to enjoy the jokes and comments from the audience, then off to the chip shop for a bag of chips and get the last bus home at 10:30pm.